Why the Unlearning Habit Will Change Your Life Forever

Wang Yip
3 min readDec 29, 2021

What is it? Why should you adopt it? How do you do it?

Photo by Florian Klauer on Unsplash

As the author of the amazing Essential Habits, I like to think of myself as a bit of a habits expert. I’m not at the level of James Clear, Charles Duhigg, or even Gretchen Rubin, but I spent two years reviewing and culling through non-fiction books, articles, podcasts, audiobooks, courses, and more to come up with the best habits in areas of work, exercising, food, morning routines, sleep, and other areas.

I don’t say this to impress you, only to let you know that there is one habit I recently discovered that I believe everyone can and should adopt.

That habit? The unlearning habit.

What?

The unlearning habit is a habit of taking the things that you think you know and then testing your knowledge to see if it is still true today. For example, I thought intermittent fasting had a significant impact on weight when I was researching my book — but I later found out a study that suggested that intermittent fasting has no impact on weight.

I also used to believe that working from home is more efficient than going to the office to work because you save the commute, water cooler talk, finding parking, having to share niceties with your boss, etc. I still think it is more…

--

--

Wang Yip

Author of Essential Habits. I write about personal development, work and managing your career. Connect with me at www.wangyip.ca