Old Books You Should Read in 2023

Three books that are surprisingly relevant for today’s times despite being written several decades ago

Wang Yip
4 min readJan 28, 2023

--

Photo by Charl Folscher on Unsplash

I thought I would be obsolete if I did not get my hands on the newest books. I would be out of the loop. Trends would already come and go if I read books only a few years old.

That’s when I read a tweet from Nassim Taleb about the Lindy effect. From Wikipedia:

The Lindy effect is a […] phenomenon by which the future life expectancy of some non-perishable things, like a technology or an idea, is proportional to their current age. Thus, the Lindy effect proposes the longer a period something has survived to exist or be used in the present, the longer its remaining life expectancy.

Mr. Taleb was referring to the idea that old books that are still best-sellers, will continue to be best sellers for at least how long they have been best sellers. Take Think and Grow Rich for example — it’s been a best-seller since the 1940s, which means it will continue to be a best-seller for at least another 80 years.

The Lindy effect helps me (and you) identify the books with timeless advice and principles. New books may capitalize on current or upcoming trends, but old books, specifically old best-selling books, provide you with…

--

--

Wang Yip

Author of Essential Habits. I write about personal development, work and managing your career. Connect with me at www.wangyip.ca