Getting Promoted as a Management Consultant — Part 2

Four more secrets people won’t tell you about getting promoted in a professional services firm

Wang Yip
4 min readNov 3, 2022

--

Photo by Kristina Flour on Unsplash

Hey! You again! You must be quite ambitious.

If you’re interested in part 1, you can check it out below, otherwise let’s get to more promotion secrets for professional services individuals (i.e., you).

Never outshine your master

I remember it like it was yesterday: we were at a consulting team meeting where all of the consultants came together to get updates from the partner. Near the end of the meeting, the partner suddenly called my name and asked me about starting up an internal initiative again. He said “when are we going to start it up again?” and I responded with “sure I can start it up again any time if people are interested” with emphasis on ‘I’.

Maybe I shouldn’t have been too surprised when several months later, I was let go despite having the highest utilization for my level across the firm. Or maybe I’m…

--

--

Wang Yip

Author of Essential Habits. I write about personal development, work and managing your career. Connect with me at www.wangyip.ca