10 Inspirational Books That Have Changed My Life

They may change yours too

Wang Yip
3 min readSep 30, 2022
Created by Night Cafe https://creator.nightcafe.studio/my-creations

The following are ten books that have changed my life (in no particular order). I’ll tell you about the book and describe how it has changed me.

Discipline is Freedom by Jocko Willink

Jocko’s premise is this: some people feel like doing the same things every day (exercise, meditating, journaling) traps them into a rut. Instead, Jocko believes that this discipline is what gives you the energy and time to do other things in your life.

I dare you to read this book and not feel like you need to take action (wake up early, exercise, eat healthily).

Poke the Box by Seth Godin

Seth argues that we’re not in the knowledge industry, we’re in the initiative industry (starting things). We are in the business (every one of us, no matter our position in the organisation) of starting things. And the world rewards those that start things.

Fierce Conversations by Susan Scott

You can change your life by understanding how to have better conversations with others AND yourself. This book helped me understand the mineral rights framework and the specific questions and thinking behind having fierce (honest, bold, strong) conversations.

The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen Covey

Worth reading and re-reading because the seven habits don’t just affect your life, it is widely applicable to work and other things too. Every successful person does some form of these seven habits — maybe they don’t do all of them and maybe they don’t do it in the exact way that Stephen describes but I can guarantee that they do some of these things.

The War of Art by Steven Pressfield

Anyone that does creative work needs to read this. Yes, it is that important. And if you feel like only artists do creative work, think again. Every one of us is an artist in some way. And every one of us battles against what Steven calls ‘the resistance’. The resistance is a force that stops us from producing our best work. Or hitting publish on that book. Or sending our artwork to others.

The Daily Laws by Robert Greene

I think each of Robert Greene’s books is individually worth reading and re-reading, but the daily laws will give you a taste of each of his books. When I think back about my life, any time I have disobeyed a law, I have been punished. These laws are important guides on how to navigate life and work.

Lifespan by David A. Sinclair

How do you maximize your life, health-wise? This book tells you how. Whether it’s particular types of exercise, diet, supplements, rest or other activities, this book gave me a great first step into expanding my life as much as possible.

The Ultimate Sales Bible by Jeffrey Gitomer

Selling is a key skill everyone should have. Jeffrey Gitomer, known as the ‘king of sales’ has been there and done that. He tells you how to sell in a non-scammy way but he doesn’t just talk about tactics, he talks about the mindset and the beliefs you need to have to make a great salesman.

Men are from Mars and Women are from Venus by John Gray

The ideas in the book help you to understand the differences between the sexes and how to have better relationships (heterosexual).

Replay by Ken Grimwood

Fiction but my favourite novel I re-read every year. What would you do if you got the chance to live your life over again?

--

--

Wang Yip

Author of Essential Habits. I write about personal development, work and managing your career. Connect with me at www.wangyip.ca